Good afternoon everyone,

Today I am putting a spotlight on a song/artist I discovered on Spotify. It’s entitled “Friends” by Francis and the Lights, featuring Bon Iver. Bon Iver, which is an American indie-folk band who you may know from the highly popularized song entitled “Skinny Love”. This song rose in popularity when Birdy (who was 16 at the time) covered it on her self-titled debut album “Birdy”. That aside, Francis and the Lights is an American music project which is led by Francis Farewell Starlite. According to the Internet, they are categorized as Pop music. But rest-assured, if you’re tired of the mainstream sound of Pop music like I am, then I hope you will be pleasantly surprised by their sound. It really pops and is very relaxing in this particular song “Friends”. Francis’s vocals are synthesized in this track (as it is in every track of theirs). Personally, I find this synthesisation a bit repetitive in this album if you choose to check out their debut studio album “Farwell, Satellite”.  “Friends” makes you feel like your floating on a cloud as it feels very eutrophic and calming making the listener feel like they’re being transported. I am a very visual person when listening to music, I can close my eyes and certain images will flow through my mind. I love metaphors so be prepared, they will come up a lot in my blog posts.

 

I hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts on “Friends”. If you did enjoy this, let me know and I will try to write more music reviews/highlights as I discover them.

Here is the video (which is so cool): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wScYn10D2vo

  • the video features Kanye West and Bon Iver

 

Album:

