Hey everyone,

I was nominated to do the “Rapid Fire Book Tag” by Shadow Summit.

This is my first tag, so I’m super excited to take part. 😀

Here we go:

 

Ebooks or Physical books?  

Physical books all the way. There is nothing more awesome then smelling and feeling the pages of a book. The feeling of holding a book is so comforting and so much better than holding a hunk of metal while entering a different world. An ebook is so impersonal and cold rather than nice friendly pages you find in a physical book.

Paperback or Hardback?

I prefer hardback as it’s easier to keep the book open. Paperbacks are harder to put down and keep your page If you don’t have a bookmark handy. However, I will read paperbacks If I have to.

Online or In-Store? 

It can all depend. I like Online shopping because you can get books that you may not find in your own country and also might get a cheaper price. However, In-store can be good as you may discover a book you have never heard of when browsing the shelves for a book that catches my eye.

Trilogies or Series? 

Once again it can very much depend. Trilogies can better particularly if all the entries of the trilogy are strong, leaving the story on a high note rather than dragging it out. Series can sometimes drag on too long and the quality of the stories tend to dwindle as it progresses. That’s not always true because the Narnia series is epic all the way through. 😀

 

Heroes or Villians?

Deferentially heroes. I like characters that I can not only connect to as I could never see myself being a villain but also characters that challenge me to be someone greater than myself. I see a hero as not only the obvious kinds of heroes like super-heroes like Batman or Spiderman but everyday people who face adversity and overcome.They are my favorite kind of heroes.

 

 

The_Flash_&_Zoom.gif

 

A Book You Want Everyone to Read? 

Hmmmmm. Tastes are very different among people, one book could be my Picasso while it might someone else’s snooze fest. A book that I would defiantly recommend reading is The Memory Of Light by Fransico X. Stork. It is a very serious book that tackles the tough subjects of suicide and mental illness. I can’t say the book is for everyone as it may be too much for some readers, but those who can tackle the emotionally intense subject matter I hope you would enjoy this book like I did. I experienced this book in audiobook form and especially like it as my interest is mental health and social issues. I was impressed on how they handled the subjects with care and respect and tackling stigma around mental health problems.

 

 

Pooh-Snooze.gif

515HONjQLFL._SX340_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

 

 

 

Recommend an Underrated Book.

An underrated book I would recommend is Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins. It’s the first entry in The Overlander Chronicles. I think many people have missed this series after the release of The Hunger Games series became incredibly popular for the author Suzanne Collins. I read the series when I was much younger but I absolutely loved it at the time. I would have to recommend the whole series which contains 5 books. Kind of cheated on this question 😛 oh well.

 

gregor.jpg

 

The last book I finished? 

 

A_Monster_Calls.jpg

 

The last book I finished was “A Monster Calls” by Patrick Ness. I just finished it today and I loved it. Full of metaphors and raw emotion made this the ultimate book for me. I am super excited to see the movie also.

Weirdest Thing You Used as a Bookmark?

Two words. TOILET PAPER. 😛

Used Books, Yes or No?

If it’s in good condition, then Yes used. Also, older books can have more character as a name may have been written in there and also it has an awesome old book smell.

Top Three Favourite Genres?

Drama, Coming-Of-Age, Fantasy/Science-Fiction

Borrow or Buy?

If I have never read the book I mostly prefer to borrow before I buy. Then I know I like it if I decide to buy it which means I save money and time. 😀 🙂

Characters or Plot?

I think they are both equally important so I am going to have to say both. Even if you have great characters, if the plot doesn’t serve the character very well then it just falls flat.

Long or Short book?

I am happy with both as long as the book engages me enough then I don’t care about the length. Connection to the characters and story is key  to keep me actively interested.

Long or short chapters?

Short chapters can be good as you get through a section of a book without getting into midnight. However, If you have plenty of energy and can keep your eyes open then I don’t mind as long as it keeps me interested.

Name the first Three Books that You can think of. 

The Giver by Lois Lowry (amazing book)

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis (classic)

Hard Times by Charles Dickens (which I borrowed from the library today)

 

Books that make you laugh or cry? 

I love books that make me cry as It solidifies the fact that I am connecting deeply with the book and makes me think deeply. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that made me proper cry but I almost cried reading A Monster Calls. Does that count? 😛

 

 

144f73bc27db11fe.gif

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Fictional worlds most defiantly. Especially where happy endings happen frequently. However, our world is pretty awesome too as God created this one to live in for a season.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

YES. YES. YES. I love audiobooks as they are really good to enjoy when you’re too tired to keep your eyes open or to focus on pages properly. They were super awesome de-stress go-to in year 11 and 12 of high school.Even now they are really good method relaxation at least for me, especially when the reader has a really nice voice.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Yes, admittedly I do. I know you shouldn’t but if a book looks really weird or super girly then I will most likely skip over it. Covers that appeal to me is something that either captures your attention with an epic visual or even just a simple but creative one. Font is also important in making me interested in it

 

Book to Movie or  Book to Tv Adaption?

I think it all depends on what the book is your trying to adapt. Some movies benefit from the Movie treatment as the budget is usually higher and are more likely to attract more seasoned actors. If a movie needs a lot of special effects, then movies work better most of the time as more of the budget can be spent on needed visuals. However, book to Tv adaptations can work much better as the story is able to be fleshed out more effectively. This is really true when it comes to big books adapted into BBC period drama mini-series e.g Bleak House, David Copperfield etc.

 

tumblr_inline_mhim9kIc3i1r1yj84.gif

  • David Copperfield (starring the little Daniel Radcliffe  BBC 1999)

 

 

tumblr_lhljk6Fhkn1qdpaq2o1_500.gif

  • Bleak House (2005 BBC mini-series)

 

 

Series or Standalone?

I love both. However, I do enjoy a novel as you can finish an entire story and not go crazy waiting for the next book to come out, wondering what is going to happen next(that can be fun too). Series can better as you can develop a character more and get to know them better which is a good benefit.

 

I hope you enjoy my attempt at the Rapid Fire Book Tag as I had a lot of fun writing it. 🙂

Godspeed and hope you’re having a great day!

Until next time 🙂

 

