Hey Everyone,

I’m back again and I’m here to make an announcement. Once a week I am going to feature a song that has impacted me personally as well reflect part of my journey. I’m also going to be chatting a little about what music means to me.

The power of music can be so underestimated in modern day culture. We often say a song is just a song… but is it really? Music has the power to shape culture in a powerful way; either in a negative or positive way. In more recent times we have seen an increase in politically motivated music like what was seen from Nina Simone in the 1960s. Some examples in recent times are Beyonce’s Formation and Freedom from her recent Grammy-nominated effort Lemonade. We have also seen a surprising entry to this movement is Chained to the Rythm by Katy Perry. Admittedly, when I first heard this song I thought it was your typical empty hot 100 Pop tune that has no real substance. However, I did some digging and the message is a very serious one despite being disguised with your typical generic Pop music sound. I won’t give it away and would like to hear you guys interpretation of the song. Pay close attention or you might miss the meaning.

Despite music being a tool in political movements, It often used to bring happiness to our otherwise mundane lives or peace to very troubled storms in life. For me, music is one of the most powerful forms of art on the planet as music unites people in a powerful way. Despite all of us having varied tastes in music, we can all agree music whether Rock, Pop, R&B or Classical and the list goes on, has the power to change how we think, feel and behave. Music can make us sit in silence with awe, wonder, and contemplation while other times it can make us want to dance.

Mary-J.-Blige-Quote.jpg

quote-music-is-a-great-blessing-it-has-the-power-to-elevate-and-liberate-us-it-sets-people-nelson-mandela-85-63-41.jpg

To finish off today’s post, I will highlight two song which captures emotions and thoughts I have previously experienced and currently experience.

Previous:

 

Current:

 

Hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you’re having a great day!!! 🙂

Godspeed. 🙂

